MY STYLE

The end of high school,  I went through a “style cleansing’ which I cite to friends, probably too often, as the beginning of my personal style.

I donated almost all my clothes, cut my hair off, and wore minimal to no makeup.

Screen Shot 2014-07-15 at 1.51.19 PM

This is one of the only self portraits I have from my “short hair” days.  I was still am very obsessed with turtle necks.  

That summer, I went to France and felt comfortable experimenting with my look because I was an unknown.  It was incredibly liberating.

I took note of the clothing the men and women wore in France–I remember one woman in Paris who wore a white blouse, blue blazer, shorts, heels and her hair in a pony tail with bangs (and inspired this look).  As soon as I got back to the United States, I spent every week in Goodwill cultivating pieces for my ever evolving closet.

Screen Shot 2014-07-15 at 1.58.46 PM

This is a self portrait I took during the summer before college.  I set up a studio in my parent’s front room and had friends stop by so I could take their portraits.  

After some awkward “growing out” stages of my hair, I began college and continued evolving my closet and created this blog!

See my awkward first posts here.

Screen Shot 2014-07-15 at 2.02.20 PM

Particularly, I was really into wearing large Goodwill shirts with shorts and tights.  I really loved the freedom of searching for interesting, inexpensive, shirts whenever I wanted.

Screen Shot 2014-07-15 at 2.05.56 PM

Then, I had the amazing opportunity of traveling to New York City for a Teen Vogue photo shoot.  See more here.

Screen Shot 2014-07-15 at 2.09.41 PM

 I’ve been heavily influenced by my peers and now Barbra Streisand and Kate Middleton.

Since coming to graduate school, my style has shifted again.I notice that some of the styles I still gravitate to today were originally discovered during my summer in France.  I spoke to a friend about this subject and she also could identify the age when she began to develop her own style without influence of her sisters.

Today, I look for pieces that are higher quality (and actually fit) than the Goodwill clothes I wore previously.  I really love how dignified and beautiful Kate Middleton looks, but I also love the 1960s Barbra Streisand style.

What age did you discover your style?  What happened at that age that allowed this?

 

 

Leave a Reply

