FARM VACATION

IMG_1014

IMG_3628

IMG_1737

IMG_2485

IMG_9639

IMG_9837

IMG_6952

IMG_0554

Over Labor Day Weekend, I went to visit my friend Larissa at her farm house on the boarder of Indiana and Ohio. Growing up in the suburbs, I’ve always been interested in what it would be like to live in between cornfields instead of houses. A few years ago, another friend hosted me at their farm house and I had my first try at farm living. (Read about that experience)

Below is a quick list of what I admire about living in the country:

  • The fresh morning air. Larissa said she thinks it’s the dew. I wish there was some way I could replicate this feeling in my morning routine. Maybe some type of face spray/mist?? Only half kidding…
  • Eating local food. I have to admit, it was a little jarring  seeing two full chickens in her fridge only a few minutes after seeing a group of them roaming around outside.
  • The freedom to build and create. Larissa and her husband have about four acres of land where they grow corn and raise their chickens, roosters, homing pigeons, pheasants, and three dogs. Living where we are in the city, we don’t even have a place where we could grow tomatoes. I really respect people who are able to live off of their own land. It’s a lot of work, but it’s also so fun to be able to see that hard work actually grow!

Leave a Reply

