24

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Dress: ASOS | Coat: Zara | Shoes: Banana Republic | Sunglasses: My dad’s (I think from CVS?)

Growing up I watched a lot of “I Love Lucy,” which I really think was the driver for me shopping at vintage stores and Goodwill in my teenage years. I love how elegant even someone as goofy as Lucille Ball looked in day dresses from the 1950s.

While shopping at vintage stores, I ran into a lot of beautiful dresses, but they were always (1) too big (2) damaged beyond simple repair (3) distinctly musty – which by the way, definitely didn’t stop me from buying and wearing them. I think we all go through an awkward phase in our teenage years with clothes. Mine just had a serious “I just rummaged through my grandma’s closet” feel. Nothing wrong with that in my book.

I share all this to say that when I saw this dress on ASOS earlier this week, I knew it was the dress that Teenage Maria would have died for. It’s a beautiful sky blue color  with a boat neckline and elegant knot tie on the waist.

Unfortunately, I discovered this dress in February and it’s definitely too cold  to wear something like this today when it’s 30 degrees, (you can totally see my leg goose bumps) but I couldn’t wait to share it with you. I’ll absolutely share other ways to style this dress once it gets warmer, because I’m getting tired of strangers coming up to me and asking me if I’m cold. (If you’re cold – I’m freezing!)

In other news, tomorrow is my 24th birthday! After taking pictures in Washington Square Park, Sangbin and I went to Little Italy to have brunch and picked up the most beautiful yellow roses (you can see them on my Instagram). Sangbin’s birthday is a few days after mine, so we usually celebrate them together. No plans yet, but I’m sure they’ll be lots of sweets. 🙂

Maria xx

2 thoughts on “24

Leave a Reply

