BROOKLYN

 

IMG_6164.JPGIMG_6165.JPG

Coat: Zara | Turtleneck: Madewell | Jeans: Madewell | Lace up Flats: Banana Republic

This is a really comfortable look perfect for weekend exploring. I love the high waisted jeans (for some reason they seem so much more comfortable??) because I think they make me look a little leaner. This wool coat from Zara has been a live-saver in keeping me warm (for the most part) on chilly NYC mornings. I absolutely love the way it drapes and how it looks great with my business clothes as well as a pair of jeans. Finally, I think the lace up flats lighten the look up. I love the way I look in all black (especially a turtleneck!) but sometimes I think they make me look a bit too intense. Because this coat seems to be inspired from a classic men’s wool coat, I think have the ballerina-esc shoes makes it seem a little less serious.

A woman approached us in the subway and told me that her sister had a really similar pair of these shoes back in the 80s that she wore to a bar mitzvah that she originally got at Banana Republic. She was amazed when I told her that mine were from there and that they’re in stores now! Small world. 🙂

Normally, I don’t sleep in too late on the weekends, but this past Saturday I woke up even earlier than normal (5:30am!!)  Sangbin and I had talked about going to the Brooklyn Bridge park the past week and wanted to take a walk at dawn. We live in upper Manhattan, so it takes us ~50 minutes to get to DUMBO, meaning we would have to leave at 6am to make it in time for the sunrise.

Maybe if I had done a little more preparation on Friday night, we could have left at 6am, but that didn’t happen! I usually underestimate how much time it takes me to get ready. It was around 8am by the time we got to DUMBO, but because the days have been getting longer, it didn’t look like morning anymore! It was nice being able to walk around the park with only a few runners.

We grabbed some coffee in DUMBO after taking a walk in the park, but it was still too early for any of the stores to open, so we went to the Flatiron District to walk around.

I had a gift card for Madewell, which I had been planning to use on a new pair of sunglasses (I pinned my favorite ones here). Sangbin tried on glasses with me and picked out a pair for himself as well as he’s thinking about getting contacts!

We went to brunch with a few friends at an Alice in Wonderland themed tea house. Everyone ordered scones, pots of tea, and french toast. Sangbin ordered a burger. 😄

Hope you all had a lovely weekend!

Maria xx

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “BROOKLYN

  1. Pingback: BLUE DRESS PANTS |

Leave a Reply

